Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Thank you Board of Education members!

Colbert County Schools

January is School Board Recognition Month and Cherokee Elementary School is proud to acknowledge the dedicated service and invaluable contributions made by the members of the Colbert County School System Board of Education; (Mrs. Sandra James, Mr. David Yarber, Mr. Thomas Burgess, Dr. Gale Satchel (superintendent), Mr. Thomas Barnes, Mrs. Bitsy Moore and Mr. Ricky Saint.

We are fortunate we are to have these exceptionally talented, incredibly dedicated people leading our district.  Every action they take is based on what is best for our students.  They provide leadership for academic programs and achievement, district funding, school facilities and many other critical issues.  Their service ensures that decisions about our school and the other schools in our system are made by people who are most familiar with the needs of our community.


The board members spend countless hours studying complex issues like student achievement and school finance, working with lawmakers and educational experts, meeting with district administrators, teachers, staff members, parents and students, and attending school and district events.  They are responsible for the academic success of over 2600 students, as well as the efficient management of a district with over 400 full and part-time employees.


Each board member represents one of the district’s six county districts and they are elected to serve a four-year term by registered voters.


Board of Education meetings are generally held at 5 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month at one of the Colbert County Schools or the central office meeting room.  Contact information for the Board of Education is 256-386-8565 or www.colbert.k12.al.us

Back to School News      Print News Article